News

Dota 2 DreamLeague S21: Schedule, results, teams, streams

It’s make-or-break season.

DreamLeague S21 commences, just a few weeks before The International 2023 is due to begin. Gaimin Gladiators — winners of three Majors and countless events — are the team to beat. But perennial grand finalists Team Liquid will be eager to seek revenge against their WEU rivals, and Team Spirit’s big win at the Riyadh Masters have put teams on high alert.

The Aegis isn’t at stake — but there’s still a lot of money to be won, and a lot of pride on the line.

What is the Dota 2 DreamLeague S21 tournament?

Credit: Valve

The 21st season of DreamLeague is the second tournament of the inaugural ESL Pro Tour. Teams are fighting for a US$1 million prize pool, as well as valuable practice heading into The International 12.

This will be an online tournament running from September 18 to 24.

Exclusive: Aui_2000 on Gaimin Gladiators’ dominance and how Team Spirit reinvented themselves

The Dota 2 hero tier list (September 2023)

DreamLeague S21 group stage standings

Credit: Gamers8

Group A

STANDINGSTEAMGAME RECORDMATCH RECORD—9Pandas———Entity———Shopify Rebellion———Talon Esports———Team Liquid———Tundra Esports——

Group B

STANDINGSTEAMGAME RECORDMATCH RECORD—BetBoom Team———Evil Geniuses———Gaimin Gladiators———OG———Quest Esports———Team Spirit——

(Group stage standings will be updated after each round of games)

DreamLeague S21 group stage schedule and results

September 18

GROUP ATIME6 p.m. GMT +810 a.m. GMT3 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMTeam Liquid—9PandasTundra Esports—Talon EsportsEntity—Shopify Rebellion

GROUP BTIME8:30 p.m. GMT +812:30 p.m. GMT5:30 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMGaimin Gladiators—Team SpiritQuest Esports—BetBoom TeamOG—Evil Geniuses

GROUP ATIME11 p.m. GMT +83 p.m. GMT8 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMTundra Esports—Shopify RebellionTalon Esports—9PandasEntity—Team Liquid

GROUP BTIMESeptember 19, 1:30 a.m. GMT +85:30 p.m. GMT10:30 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMOG—Gaimin GladiatorsBetBoom Team—Team SpiritQuest Esports—Evil Geniuses

September 19

GROUP ATIME6 p.m. GMT +810 a.m. GMT3 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMTalon Esports—Team LiquidEntity—Tundra Esports9Pandas—Shopify Rebellion

GROUP BTIME8:30 p.m. GMT +812:30 p.m. GMT5:30 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMBetBoom Team—Gaimin GladiatorsOG—Quest EsportsTeam Spirit—Evil Geniuses

GROUP ATIME11 p.m. GMT +83 p.m. GMT8 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMShopify Rebellion—Team Liquid9Pandas—Tundra EsportsEntity—Talon Esports

GROUP BTIMESeptember 20, 1:30 a.m. GMT +85:30 p.m. GMT10:30 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMTeam Spirit—Quest EsportsOG—BetBoom TeamEvil Geniuses—Gaimin Gladiators

September 20

GROUP ATIME6 p.m. GMT +810 a.m. GMT3 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMTeam Liquid—Tundra EsportsShopify Rebellion—Talon EsportsEntity—9Pandas

GROUP BTIME8:30 p.m. GMT +812:30 p.m. GMT5:30 a.m. PTTEAMRESULTSTEAMEvil Geniuses—BetBoom TeamGaimin Gladiators—Quest EsportsOG—Team Spirit

DreamLeague S21 playoffs schedule and results

September 21

Upper bracket semifinals

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—9:30 p.m. GMT +8 | 1:30 p.m. GMT | 6:30 a.m. PT——September 22, 1 a.m. GMT +8 | 5 p.m. GMT | 10 a.m. PT—

September 22

Lower bracket round 1

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—6 p.m. GMT +8 | 10 a.m. GMT | 3 a.m. PT——9:30 p.m. GMT +8 | 1:30 p.m. GMT | 6:30 a.m. PT—

Lower bracket quarterfinal

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—September 23, 1 a.m. GMT +8 | 5 p.m. GMT | 10 a.m. PT—

September 23

Lower bracket quarterfinal

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—6 p.m. GMT +8 | 10 a.m. GMT | 3 a.m. PT—

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—9:30 p.m. GMT +8 | 1:30 p.m. GMT | 6:30 a.m. PT—

September 24

Lower bracket final

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—6 p.m. GMT +8 | 10 a.m. GMT | 3 a.m. PT—

Grand final

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM—10 p.m. GMT +8 | 2 p.m. GMT | 7 a.m. PT—

(To be updated)

Format of DreamLeague S21

Credit: Talon Esports

The 12 competing are split into two groups of six, playing a best-of-two round-robin.

The top four teams from each group move on to the playoffs. The last two teams in each group are eliminated.

Teams are seeded according to their positions in the group starge — top two teams in the upper bracket, next two in the lower bracket.

The playoffs are a double-elimination bracket. All matches will be best-of-three, except for the best-of-five grand finals.

DreamLeague S21 prize pool

Credit: ESL

DreamLeague 20 has a US$1 million prize pool. But arguably, the bigger prize is a direct qualification to the US$15 million Riyadh Masters for the first-placed team.

STANDINGTEAMPRIZE MONEY1st—US$300,0002nd—US$175,0003rd—US$120,0004th—US$85,0005th-6th—US$57,5007th-8th—US$47,5009th-10th—US$30,00011th-12th—US$25,000

Teams competing in DreamLeague S21

Credit: Tundra Esports

12 teams will compete over the next week in this US$1 million tournament. We will be getting our first look at some revamped rosters as well, including Tundra Esports’ new midlaner Topias “Topson” Taavitsainen and OG’s Ivan “MinD_ContRoL” Ivanov.

Gaimin Gladiators

Team Liquid

Tundra Esports

Quest Esports

Entity

OG

Team Spirit

9Pandas

BetBoom Team

Talon Esports

Shopify Rebellion

Evil Geniuses

Where to watch DreamLeague S21

You can watch DreamLeague on the official Twitch and YouTube channels.

A total of three Twitch streams will be available during the group stage:

ESL_Dota2

ESL_Dota2Ember

ESL_Dota2Storm