News

ESL One Berlin Major is all about the May-hem

The second Dota 2 Major of the year is embracing the darkness.

The Major is scheduled to run from April 26 to May 7, 2023. The LAN portion of the event, featuring the last six teams of the tournament, will last three days from May 5 to May 7 at the Velodrom arena in Berlin.

DPC WEU’s looping tiebreakers finally ends — Tundra, Entity qualify for Lima MajorThe Dota 2 hero tier list (February 2023)

ESL One Berlin Major starts in May with US$500,000 prize pool

The ESL One Berlin Major features a US$500,000 prize pool for its 18 participating teams. It also comes with precious Dota Pro Circuit points up for grabs — all for qualification to the Oktoberfest later in the year, The International 12.

More DPC points will be available compared to the Lima Major held in February. The third Major will feature the most DPC points of all, rewarding teams for recent good form closer to TI12.

The format of the Berlin Major will see all 18 teams put in two separate groups of nine, playing a single best-of-two round robin. Then, 12 remaining teams will go into the playoffs, before six teams will play in a LAN format at the Velodrom.

Credit: ESL

The Major was announced with a sweet video featuring Night Stalker, a direct contrast to the last ESL Major — ESL One Stockholm, featuring a Phoenix theme, held in May 2022.

Tickets will be available starting today, at 10 p.m. GMT +8 | 6 a.m. PT | 2 p.m. GMT on the Eventbrite website.

Official streams will be available on ESL’s Twitch and Youtube.