News

ESL One comes to Kuala Lumpur with US$1 million prize pool

After four years, a Dota LAN event is returning to Kuala Lumpur.

ESL One KL — the first offline event in Malaysia’s capital since 2018’s KL Major — will see 12 teams attend for their shot at a US$1 million prize pool.

Though 12 teams will attend, only eight teams will play in front of a live audience at the MITEC from December 15 to 17.

With the Dota Pro Circuit officially abolished, these third-party tournaments have increased in importance — making ESL One KL not just a high prize pool tournament like this season’s ESL Pro Tour, but likely a significant factor in any potential The International field.

OG brings in MinD_ContRoL on loan again, moves DM to inactive roster

Valve abolishes Dota Pro Circuit system after 6 years

ESL One KL drops teaser trailer, tickets sale soon

As with all ESL One events, this one is themed after Oracle — perhaps securing the future of some teams come TI13.

We also get some cartoon-ified glimpses of memorable moments from past Dota 2 events, like Nuengnara “23savage” Teeramahanon’s premature celebration against Team Liquid at Riyadh Masters, as well as Xu “fy” Linsen and Song “Sccc” Chun’s reactions to losing at The International.

Tickets start from about US$32 (149RM), and go up to US$106 (499RM) at the premium tier. Ticketing information can be found here on ESL’s official website, with sales opening 3 p.m. GMT +8 | 7 a.m. GMT | 12 a.m. PT on September 21.