What is the legendary Dota 2 TI Aegis?

Updated on October 10, 1:10 p.m. (GMT+8): Added images.

The time has come for a new name to claim the Aegis and title of Champion at Dota 2’s most prestigious tournament, The International.

The most esteemed esports tournament in the Dota 2 world, winning TI is the end goal for all professional teams, and only true Dota 2 fans understand what it means to take home the Aegis.

READ MORE DOTA 2 GUIDESWhat is Cheese? It’s more than just an itemDid you know? N0tail lives in a huge US$2M, 17-bedroom gaming mansion in LisbonThis artist’s incredibly detailed hero sculptures look amazingHow to counter MedusaOnce upon a time, you could play League of Legends champions in Dota 2

Credit: Valve

Credit: Funko

GET YOURS TODAY: Pudge Funko Pop! Figure

What is the Aegis?

The Aegis of Immortality is an in-game item that resurrects its holder if struck down. It can only be obtained by slaying the beast, Roshan, and only lasts for five minutes until it is reclaimed.

The International: All TI winners throughout the years

Modeled from the in-game item, the Aegis of Champions is given to the winning team of TI for that year. When the next TI comes around, the team who had the Aegis the previous year must return it for the cycle to continue, for one exists in the entire world.

Credit: Weta Workshop

The history behind the TI Aegis of Champions

Brought to life by Weta Workshop in 2012, the same makers behind Lord of the Rings, teams from around the world fight tooth and nail every year to be able to proudly raise the Aegis and say they are the best.

Serving as the trophy for every TI winner since The International 2. The TI Aegis has been claimed thus far by eight teams, with OG being the only team to claim it twice.

Credit: Funko

GET YOURS TODAY: Spirit Breaker Funko Pop! Figure

Playing a huge part in Dota 2’s history, it serves to remind fans of all the epic moments and plays that lead to each Champion.

Every Champion team and its players’ names are engraved on the back of the TI trophy, or as we Dota players like to call it, immortalized in history.

Credit: Valve

Every team and player engraved on the Aegis

The International 1Natus Vincere

Ivan “Artstyle” Antonov

Danil “Dendi” Ishutin

Oleksandr “XBOCT” Dashkevych

Clement “Puppey” Ivanov

Dmitriy “LighTofHeaveN” Kupriyanov

The International 2 – Invictus Gaming

Chen “Zhou” Yao

Luo “Ferrari_430” Feichi

Jiang “YYF” Cen

Wong “ChuaN” Hock Chuan

Zeng “Faith” Hongda

The International 3 – Alliance

Jonathan “Loda” Berg

Gustav “s4” Magnusson

Henrik “AdmiralBulldog” Ahnberg

Jerry “EGM” Lundkvist

Joakim “Akke” Akterhall

Credit: Valve

GET YOURS TODAY: Dota 2: The Comic Collection Hardcover

The International 4 – Newbee

Chen “Hao” Zhihao

Zhang “Mu” Pan

Zhang “xiao8” Ning

Wang “Banana” Jiao

Wang “SanSheng” Zhaohui

The International 5 – Evil Geniuses

Clinton “Fear” Loomis

Syed Sumail “SumaiL” Hassan

Saahil “Universe” Arora

Kurtis “Aui_2000” Ling

Peter “ppd” Dager

The International 6 – Wings Gaming

Chu “Shadow” Zeyu

Zhou “bLink” Yang

Zhang “Faith_bian” Ruida

Zhang “y`” Yiping

Li “iceice” Peng

The International 7 – Team Liquid

Lasse Aukusti “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen

Amer “Miracle-” Al-Barkawi

Ivan Borislavov “MinD_ContRoL” Ivanov

Maroun “GH” Merhej

Kuro “KuroKy” Salehi Takhasomi

The International 8 – OG

Anathan “ana” Pham

Topias Miikka “Topson” Taavitsainen

Sébastien “Ceb” Debs

Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka

Johan “N0tail” Sundstein

The five best Pudge counters so you don’t suffer in your next pub

The International 9 – OG

Anathan “ana” Pham

Topias Miikka “Topson” Taavitsainen

Sébastien “Ceb” Debs

Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka

Johan “N0tail” Sundstein

The International 10 – Team Spirit

Illya “Yatoro” Mulyarchuk

Alexander “TORONTOTOKYO” Khertek

Magomed “Collapse” Khalilov

Myroslav “Mira” Kolpakov

Yaroslav “Miposhka” Naidenov

The International 11 – Tundra Esports

Oliver “skiter” Lepko

Leon “Nine” Kirilin

Neta “33” Shapira

Martin “Saksa” Sazdov

Jingjun “Sneyking” Wu

Just a heads up, some of the links on ONE Esports are affiliate links. This means if you click on them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. It’s a way for us to keep the site running and provide you with valuable content. Thanks for your support!

Find out how some of the teams made it to TI by watching the Heroes of the Game documentary presented by foodpanda.